A Tribute to Whitney: what I have learned…

Standard

One can only be reckless for so long before our body has enough.  Do something for your OWN well being and appreciate the gift you are today.  I know that this reckless and unnecessary behavior has lead to so many premature deaths in my own world or in that of the “Celebrity” universe as well.  

A situation came up this weekend where someone criticized a “remembrance of life” of the one and only Whitney Houston.  By criticizing someone over mourning the life of someone that they never personally met and who was seemingly being praised and remembered for her train wreck personal life is just wrong.  We are mourning a life taken too soon and a talent still with such potential if only she made different decisions.  Despite her personal decisions, there is no denying the amount of impact this one little soul had not only on developing a Gospel-fed genre of music integrated into mainstream music to which inspired many, but personally touched so many women and men everywhere.  I personally felt that her music was genuine and her vocals were a God-given talent.  I cannot tell you how many times I sing her songs in the shower, in the car, singing Karaoke, or otherwise having a bad day.  She not only inspired other artists to expand their vocals and outreach, but inspired me to let the lungs wail once in a while in a healthy and positive manner.  EVERYONE needs that.

Image

This is how I will always remember Ms. Houston...

Sometimes simply singing one of her songs in the privacy of my humble abode just simply makes my day a little better.  Brighter.  Her amount of emotion, my amount of matching emotion usually was enough to just allow me to breathe clearer as the song would end.  It clears my mind, heart, and allows me to actually think clearer.  One may never fully appreciate or know the extent to which a song or a person have affected us as a human being usually until it is too late. 

And you know, I felt sorry for her home life.  We can’t ever judge that.  All I can say is that we have our own choice to love and I believe that she truly tried to love despite all that was happening.  This beautiful soul failed in one regard in my opinion…that was in loving herself.  The body cannot handle what she became toward the end of her life….and not to mention after she met Bobby Brown.  That is the true tragedy.  

If there is one thing I have learned thru Whitney Houston’s death, it’s that life is so fragile and we need to thank God everyday for the breath to live just one more day.  Life is never guaranteed.  It is so important, now more than ever, to learn to turn to the light and take positive steps forward.  We must always be working on ourselves and loving ourselves selflessly.  This then starts to translate and permeate other relationships we might have in our lives.  Love God first, love self second and allow God to work thru us in a positive manner.

If you take anything from this post, anything at all, just remember to say ‘I love you’ to the people that mean something to you.  Give hugs and keep in touch.  Appreciate who is given to you and their worth to you as you never know when they might be called away.  No regrets, right?

❤ The CatMan

 

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to Whitney: what I have learned…

Leave a Reply

