Next time, I want to meet the Queen!

Standard

The other night, I was up getting ready for an outing.  OK fine.  I was getting ready to go to the Sir Elton John Concert!!  

Earlier in the day, I felt my late Grandma Carolyn around me.  She and I were best buds.  We would do everything together when I was a child.  We would have silly funny things happen to us all the time.  There are situations where you laugh and say…hmmm….only something that would happen to us!  This is where a lot of my self amusement happens to come from and I am really glad I can laugh about it!  Ironically, I was just laughing about her funeral the other day.  That is for another day as that would be too much amusement for one post….anyways….

My Aunt Mary and Gram helped me pick out an outfit.  I about died laughing because my outfit was so very perfect for this night.  Black leggings, black ballerina flats, and a sparkly little number as my top.  If you could imagine it:  every color sequins on the front of this outfit and it went down like a formfitting knit dress.  The sequins was only on the front of the dress and covered my shoulders to the bottom of the dress.  Immediately both my Aunt Mary and Gram said that was it!  So now my outfit was all set…now on to the hair and make-up!

Make-up was done in a few minutes then it was on to my hair.  I curled the whole thing.  I just got finished with my curls when I was trying to hurry and straighten my bangs.  I was running late per usual as I was working and doing things up until the time I absolutely had to leave.  So that is part of the reason I felt already over the place.  Well I started to try to clip the heaviest part of my bangs up so that way I could get the under layers.  The clip I was using snapped and flew across my bathroom behind my back and into the toilet.  What are the odds?  I didn’t even have to turn around because I knew right when I heard the “bloop!”  I simply shake my head.  I reach in and get it.  Disgusting, right? But I just kind of sucked it up and laughed.  It really was funny.  Totally something that would happen to me.  So I decide, skip the clip and press on…”how many more minutes left??  Oh crap 5 minutes!!”

I run out, spray myself with perfume and it was out the door.  I was meeting my family out before hand for dinner.  Now I just wanted to just point out that everyone in my family was dressed nicely except they weren’t dressed to meet the Queen!  They were in jeans and nice tops AND then there was me!  HA.  So we all pile in the car and head to the Coliseum.  We won’t go there with the humor of the ride…that is also meant for another post as well…..

When we arrive, traffic was not terrible although we were 2 hours early!  As we were walking up to the door I was approached by one of our local news stations…”I couldn’t help but notice you look like you might be seeing Elton John this evening… (you think??) …Would you mind if I got an interview?”  I was laughing so hard.  1st of all, I did agree and just as I did that everyone else in my party flew out of the picture!  Ironic part of this is that my Grandma Carolyn always told me that I needed to be on camera and that I reminded her of Katie Couric.  I just laughed and after this brief interview.  The interview can be seen at: http://fortwaynehomepage.net/fulltext/?nxd_id=60062 (I am there about 1:20).  I called Aunt Mary and Gram and told them both to watch the news to see if my face made it there.  Low and behold I was on TV and not in a cheer uniform!  Not used to that!  It was really funny though. 

The only thing that this compared to, as far as excitement goes, is going to Disney for the very first time.  My eyes started to water, my heart started beating faster, and I was just so anxious to see him play!  

Needless to say, all of my expectations were met and improved!  The concert itself was phenomenal.  It was great and I will tell you if there is any moment where you can see him or he is passing through your town, just buy a ticket!  We were sitting in the nose bleeds, but it was just fine.  Sat with our beer in hand, singing a long, and it was an absolutely amazing performance.  Only thing that could have been better if Drunk Suzy in front of us would have stopped “trying to dance” and just enjoyed the show too!  Hey can’t win them all and she was having fun!  

Would it not have figured that I had to go to the bathroom during “Tiny Dancer”?  Yeah just again my luck.  On my way back, there was only a woman following me out of the bathroom when I just started dancing down the hall drunk off my one beer and excitement!  She totally understood and egged it on!

AND this is why this Queen is my FAVORITE Queen.  He sounded and looked good.  He had a very classy outfit and played for 3 straight hours ending with “Circle of Life”.  He didn’t shove any political, social whatever in your face as it was all about music.  Precious and wonderful music.  I think the only thing better would be if Billy Joel was touring with him still.  I really think that would have totally blown this concert experience’s roof off.  I have a new found respect for my favorite Queen.  I came out of there feeling like a Rocket Man…

Enjoyed family time, got dressed up, was on the news, had a great time, but next time I want to meet the Queen….who do I put this request in with??  Anyone know?! 

❤ The CatMan