When Harry Met Sally….Challenge for love continues!

Standard

This weekend was spent learning a lot about love.  I am brought to one of my all time favorite movies of all time…When Harry Met Sally.  I love the chemistry between Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal. “Humping and pumping isn’t Sheldon’s strong suite”

As human beings we are constantly making and breaking bonds.  The bonds we do break leave imprints positive or for the negative.  Bonds that exist could be one of many types–physical, chemical, emotional, mental or spiritual.  Some people immediately connect and for that reason we must always be on guard.

There are songs written about love all the time.  But I don’t feel like the songs speaking of this love thing are really referring to love as much as they are referring to lusting for someone.  People automatically think sleeping with someone makes you able to love a person but that simply is not the truth at all.  Sleeping with someone out of context only leaves you open for physical and emotional hurt.  Why bring that upon ourselves?

What I have discovered that in order to know what love actually is you must have God involved.  He is the definition of selfless love.  Forgive me if this is a less than perfect verbalization.  Love is not simply partial but fully inclusive.  It doesn’t choose parts of a person, but desires a total transformation and fulfillment.  Love ultimately is a choice.  You choose to love others just as you choose anything else.  Love starts with appreciating who you are, what you have gone through and making a vow to commit to someone who sees how precious you are!

“Someone is staring at you in personal growth….” I believe the best things start from a friendship.  I believe this goes against what Harry states on that cab ride to NY, yet I am a firm believer.  If you cannot be there for your friends or yourself, how the heck else can you be there for a significant other that you are potentially have a family with…yeah I just don’t think that is possible!

Strangely, my dad and I were talking about relationships.  I haven’t necessarily had the best track record to date.  I am grateful for my past as it makes me feel like a survivor.  It wasn’t easy but heck now I know what I stand for and just how important it is to date the right person.  It is setting standards and never compromising on what is important to you.  Morals especially.

So, how do you know if you ‘love’ someone?  That’s the next thing on the list.  Love NOT lust someone.  Love is putting someone else’s needs in front of your own.  “The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves and not to twist them to fit our own image.  Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them” Thomas Merton (No man is an Island)  Love is a broad word.  It is something that should never be taken lightly.  It is something that we should all strive to do.  Think about this quote I just posted.  It is not just limited to those individuals we know and encounter on a regular basis.  It is also the strangers on the street, the customers, the people who give us grief…it is about loving each person with the same love.  Of course, we demonstrate that love differently for each person we encounter, but the underlying love shouldn’t change.

Support, commit, and love on someone you normally wouldn’t today.  🙂

Harry Burns: I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, and the thing is, I love you.

Sally Albright: What?

Harry Burns: I love you.

Sally Albright: How do you expect me to respond to this?

Harry Burns: How about, you love me too.

Sally Albright: How about, I’m leaving.

Harry Burns: I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

2 thoughts on “When Harry Met Sally….Challenge for love continues!

  1. Love IS a choice and I’m so glad you know it too. I have always been so skeptical of the people who feel soo pulled by love as to stay in a relationship that is destructive. I wake up every morning and choose to love my husband and family, and to act in love and kindness with them and those around me. It seems so simple and logical to me. Also, I LOVE that movie soo much!

    • Precisely. We are such confused people in terms of just simply loving others. Love is really hard sometimes, but that is what makes it so worth it in the end! 🙂 Love ya Mama Melch thanks for the comment. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

