Life is so funny….Tears of Laughter Proceed!

Standard

Oh life can be so funny sometimes.  First of all I want to say, just when I think things are figured out–here comes a curve ball!  At this point, I should just expect it.

Car problems.

Late last week, I had a warning light come on ever so often when I was out driving.  BRAKE in red would flash three times accompanied by three obnoxious beeps.  BEEP! BEEP! BEEP!  Then, it would stop.  I thought it might have been the break fluid that needed changed or adjusted so I just wrote it off.  On Sunday, my dad and I played mechanics and lifted up good ol’ Midnight Cruiser’s hood.

For those of you who don’t know, I drive a VW Beetle.  Year 2000.  The mechanic’s that work on my car have only now started to believe me that it might just so happened to be possessed.  For an instance, my radio stopped working.  I drove for 6 months no radio and for entertainment purposes I would practice my Karaoke.  My brother bought me another radio, had it installed and it decided to work for a good while.  Well I took my car in for some work a few months.  When I picked it up, my mechanic informed me that the radio decided to stop working and that he saw there was a radio in the trunk so he swapped it out.  Guess what?  It started working fine!  The radio that was in my trunk…..that was the original radio.  So random warning lights turning on for a few seconds one day truly doesn’t phase me as crazy quirky situations happen to me all the time!

As the light and the beeps became more apparent and more frequent….my fist would clinch a little tighter.  I began feeling my anger raise a bit and I found my hand about ready to do something not so nice to Midnight Cruiser…I almost hit my dashboard.  I was already talking to it like I was going to make it pay for being bad.  I looked like one of those crazed drivers with their blue tooth pieces in carrying on about this, that, or the other thing flailing arms and all!  That’s when I realized I had a problem.  So it was “DAD HELP!!!” mode for this CatMan.

Dad and I had the manual out, hood up and our thinking caps on…we found what we thought was the break fluid compartment.  So we unscrewed the cap, poured the break fluid in and I was on my way.  Well I thought that it was weird as it didn’t make the problem go away!  What the heck!?  I continued to drive it with every intention of getting it in to the shop come Monday morning.  I followed through with it.

Damage?  You ready for this??  Wait for it……(phone conversation)

Mechanic:”You need new brake pads, rotors, and there is a leak in the caliber in the back…also, we noticed that your power steering fluid was over flowing!  So, I would suggest a flush…you wouldn’t have by chance filled the break fluid in the compartment would you have??”

Me:  “did it have a green top on it?”

Mechanic: “yes…and the break fluid compartment is confusing to get to as you have to use a funnel to fill it.  You didn’t use a funnel did you?”

Me: “Green top?  Uh yeah maybe….and definitely didn’t use a funnel….what’s the damage?”

Mechanic: “$$$$”

Me: “it’s only money….sigh…proceed”

As soon as I hung up the phone, I seriously laughed until I cried!  I know, I know it sounds like an oxymoron….but I DID!  I couldn’t believe what happened. I mean I could, but seriously just couldn’t stop laughing.  When I told my dad what had happened, his response was so priceless.  “OH sorry!  My bad!”  It wasn’t his fault because his guess was as good as mine was.  I was not even mad about this and in the end everything turned out fine.

As time rolls on, I have chilled out about a lot of things.  I would like to say that thing is this phenomenon called PERSPECTIVE.  That is one principle that I have always had trouble with even when I was little.  I love art, but once again perspective challenges me again!Image

Above you will find the straight up definition for perspective.  Perspective is something I need to continue to work on and perfect.  I have always been able to find humor even though perspective in a sense has been skewed.  Humor is my chosen form of therapy I am afraid.

To be moved to tears of laughter, that is a powerful and wonderful moment!  Be grateful to have a moment such as that.  I love to laugh.  I love to get a good ab work out too (which when you truly laugh it kills two birds with one stone!).  🙂

When life throws you a curve ball, just roll with it.  Keep things in perspective and remember to laugh until you cry!  Life happens 🙂  AND thank goodness for me going to school for Cosmetology not Mechanics……hehe.

Life is so funny, don’t ya think?

Leave a Reply

